Tuesday, March 27, 2018

What I'm Reading...

 Pages: 352
Publisher: HMH Books for Young Readers
Publication Date: March 13, 2018

From Amazon:

Seven students trapped in their school after a bomb goes off must fight to survive while also discovering who among them is the bomber in this provocative new thriller from the author of the New York Times bestselling Testing Trilogy. Perfect for fans of This Is Where It Ends. 

A congressman's daughter who has to be perfect. A star quarterback with a secret. A guy who's tired of being ignored. A clarinet player who's done trying to fit in. An orphaned rebel who wants to teach someone a lesson. A guy who wants people to see him, not his religion.

They couldn't be more different, but before the morning's over, they'll all be trapped in a school that's been rocked by a bombing. When they hear that someone inside is the bomber, they'll also be looking to one another for answers.  

Told from multiple perspectives, Time Bomb will keep readers guessing about who the bomber could be—and what motivated such drastic action. 


My thoughts so far:

This was a highly anticipated title for me..I loved some of the author's other works (the "Testing" series and especially "Need").  From a Christian viewpoint (and a Librarian's), I guess I shouldn't have been surprised when chapter 4 introduced a homosexual character in to the mix.  It's getting more difficult nowadays to read a mainstream novel (or picturebook for that matter) without a LGBTQ+ character in it.  Publishers and reviewers are conveniently leaving this fact out of the reviews; although some professional journals now make sure to include what race a character is (so libraries can be diverse in their collections).  But because of some of the material that is included, I would not feel comfortable suggesting this title to a young adult (grades 6-8) in our conservative community.  At this point (page 201), I think it would make a great, fast read for an adult.



Pages: 352
Publisher: Simon & Schuster, Enriched Classic Edition
Publication Date: May 1, 2004

From Amazon

A timeless, terrifying tale of one man’s obsession to create life—and the monster that became his legacy. “If ever a book needed to be placed in context, it’s Frankenstein” (The New York Times Book Review).

ENDURING LITERATURE ILLUMINATED BY PRACTICAL SCHOLARSHIP

A timeless, terrifying tale of one man's obsession to create life—and the monster that became his legacy. 

EACH ENRICHED CLASSIC EDITION INCLUDES:
• A concise introduction that gives readers important background information 
• A chronology of the author’s life and work 
• A timeline of significant events that provides the book’s historical context 
• An outline of key themes and plot points to help readers form their own interpretations 
• Detailed explanatory notes 
• Critical analysis, including contemporary and modern perspectives on the work 
• Discussion questions to promote lively classroom and book group interaction 
• A list of recommended related books and films to broaden the reader’s experience 

Enriched Classics offer readers affordable editions of great works of literature enhanced by helpful notes and insightful commentary. The scholarship provided in Enriched Classics enables readers to appreciate, understand, and enjoy the world’s finest books to their full potential. 


My thoughts so far:

This a more of a "work read" for me.  In 2018 Indiana is doing a one state/one story program (Frankenstein).  We applied for a grant for our library to help with funding Frankenstein programs this year and received the grant!  Since I've never read the book, and am in charge of the Frankenstein initiative at WPL, I thought I better get a jump start on the book.  

Monday, March 12, 2018

Keturah - Lisa T. Bergren

Pages: 352
Publisher: Bethany House
Publication Date: February 6, 2018

About the book (from Amazon):

In 1772 England, Lady Keturah Banning Tomlinson and her sisters find themselves the heiresses of their father's estates and know they have one option: Go to the West Indies to save what is left of their heritage.

Although it flies against all the conventions for women of the time, they're determined to make their own way in the world. But once they arrive in the Caribbean, proper gender roles are the least of their concerns. On the infamous island of Nevis, the sisters discover the legacy of the legendary sugar barons has vastly declined--and that's just the start of what their eyes are opened to in this unfamiliar world. 

Keturah never intends to put herself at the mercy of a man again, but every man on the island seems to be trying to win her hand and, with it, the ownership of her plantation. She could desperately use an ally, but even an unexpected reunion with a childhood friend leaves her questioning his motives. 

Set on keeping her family together and saving her father's plantation, can Keturah ever surrender her stubbornness and guarded heart to God and find the healing and love awaiting her?


My thoughts:

From the moment I started reading this book I was hooked!  I'm not normally a fan of historical fiction, but thought I'd give this title a try.  As previously mentioned in other blog posts, I'm a fan of book covers...I mean really, it's what I first notice and they can totally grab my attention and get me interested in a book.  And what's not to love about this cover??  From the beautiful sunset (sunrise?), to the beach and palm trees, even the main character's dress...it's beautiful!  

Cover aside, the writing and storytelling is spot on...you can tell it's from a seasoned author, comfortable drawing the reader in and inviting them to sit and stay for a spell.  The characters are well-developed and likable, so much so that I cannot wait to hear the stories of Verity and Selah, two of Keturah's sidelined females.

If you're looking for excitement and adventure, make sure you pick up this first book in a new series by Bergren!

I give this book 5 stars and highly recommend it.

**I was given a copy of this book in exchange for my honest opinion.**

Thursday, March 8, 2018

A Prairie Girl's Faith The Spiritual Legacy of Laura Ingalls Wilder - Stephen W. Hines

Pages: 224
Publisher: Waterbrook
Publication Date: February 6, 2018

About the book (from Amazon):

A Prairie Girl's Faith provides the first extended, in depth discussion of the Christian faith of one of America's most beloved pioneer women--Laura Ingalls Wilder. Although the faith of the Ingalls' family pervades books in the Little House series, the more specific details of Laura's faith have never been fully explored. It took extraordinary pluck for anyone to survive the harshness of frontier life--from the heartbreak of sudden crop losses to murderous storms to unrelenting loneliness. This book reveals how in surviving, the brave Laura drew not just on her character, but found encouragement, strength, and hope in her relationship with God.

My thoughts:

Anything related to Laura Ingalls Wilder or Little House on the Prairie is definitely bound to grab my attention.  From the moment I caught my first glimpse of the television show as a child, I longed to be Laura; running free through the prairie fields spending time with Ma and Pa, and even Mary.  I was so excited to see this book become available for review!

While I'll admit I have never fully researched the life of the real Laura Ingalls Wilder, I do know that some of the details from the show were not historically accurate.  I did find this book easy to read and the words flowed flawlessly across the pages.  I'm not here to debate facts, I'm here to tell you if you're looking for an interesting faith-filled read, you'll want to make sure to pick this one up.  Oh...and the cover...I LOVE the design and the layout, it's absolutely beautiful (in my opinion)!

I give this book 4 stars.

**I was given a copy of this book in exchange of my honest opinion.