Friday, January 23, 2015

Silenced - Dani Pettrey


The fourth installment in the Alaskan Courage series, this story revolves around Jake Westin and Kayden McKenna.  Kayden loves mountain climbing and taking risks in the adventurous sport.  Loving her family comes easy, but sharing her feelings does not.  Jake has also kept secrets of his own, but slowly within the last few books we have been learning more about this mysterious newcomer.  Often times at odds with each other, we have seen them start to sort out their relationship.
While rock climbing one afternoon Kayden discovers a dead climber.  After the authorities and her family are called in to investigate the scene, Kayden beings to wonder if the death was really an accident, or if there is something more sinister going on.  Not one to go on a “gut” feeling, she begins to trust her instincts, even when it comes to an old boyfriend.  Kayden soon starts receiving threatening phone calls and messages, and with Jake at her side, the mystery stars to unravel.  Each working through some personal items on their own, they soon realize what a great team they make.
I decided to take several books on vacation with me over Spring Break, but only this book was able to keep me away from the sunshine and the beach.  Wow, what a read!  With Silenced being the fourth book of this series, I was a little hesitant to hope for the best.  Readers know that few authors are able to finish out a series of this length as strong as they started it.  Pettrey did not disappoint!  (With that said, there is at least one more book yet to be written before the series is over!)
With all the characters we have come to know and love, Jake and Kayden set out for the adventure of a lifetime.  Throughout their story we learn what has been taking place in the lives of the McKenna’s, who has gotten married, become engaged, or is expecting a child.   Pettrey does a great job in updating each and every person we have met throughout the series, whether they have been main characters or supporting ones.  The nice thing about how the updating takes place?  If you are jumping in mid series with this book, you will not be lost or confused with the story, enough background info is given throughout that it could easily be read as a stand-alone.
Pettrey is a fine Christian fiction/suspense writer, skillfully writing her stories in a way that the characters gently share their faith during their stories.  Talented beyond words, page after page quickly becomes a fast paced novel drawing the reader in taking them on a journey deeper than they ever could have imagined.

If you’re looking for a great summer series, I highly recommend this one, the Alaskan Courage series!  Need a quick gift for a friend?   Why not start them out with the story of Jake and Kayden?  I give this book 5 stars for its excellent storyline, thought-provoking topics, and all around great writing!

**I received this book in exchange for my honest review**

No comments:

Post a Comment